The Next Big Thing; When a Son Cooks

My writing mentor, South-Africa based Ugandan writer Jackee Batanda invited me to participate in The Next Big Thing Challenge. Below I answer some interview questions for the challenge and invite writers Beatrice Lamwaka, Ukamaka Olisakwe Evelyn, Nick Twinamatsiko, Okwir Oduor and Harriet Anena to take the baton. 

What is your working title of your book?

Where are the Tomatoes?   

Where did the idea come from for the book?

After an ugly argument with a male friend about gender roles in marriage, specifically cooking, I thought it would be fun dramatizing the issue.

What genre does your book fall under?

Drama

Which actors/actresses would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Anne Kansiime, obviously. And Richard Tuwangye too. 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A graduate son of a retired public servant returns home to live with his family and help his mother with domestic chores, sparking a series of confrontations with his father. .

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? 

I try as much to keep my work far from the idea of self-publishing. 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I am still working on the very first draft for a month now and I do not think I am finishing it soon.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Maybe John Ruganda’s The Burdens, but not quite. This is not a fair question. How can I answer without sounding very vain?   

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The whole idea that a married man can’t cook even when he used to, before he married did not inspire me, it incited me into the writing.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I do not put myself in the theater audience’s (reader’s) shoes when writing, so I can’t tell now, what the reader may find intriguing. 

One thought on “The Next Big Thing; When a Son Cooks

Leave a Reply

